Anime Days :)

January 8, 2013

I’m on an anime roll ๐Ÿ˜€ wow I haven’t felt so excited and thrilled about anime in the longest time! It’s so nice to have this feeling back again ๐Ÿ™‚ honestly I think this feeling of freshness, excitement and pure happiness can only come from anime. Come to think of it, watching drama I normally feel excited and kyaaa fangirly but never refreshed. If it’s refreshing, it’s usually coupled with tension and foreboding because when the plot’s fresh, it’s usually dark.

So anyway, CHIHAYAFURU! I don’t know why I didn’t discover this anime earlier. Basically i love it. The high school setting just makes me miss my school days and the days when…well you had time to join after school clubs, and you just had time to invest in hobbies, do other things other than work and make friendships that last a lifetime. That period of time will never come back. The times when friendships were so pure and innocent and lasted a lifetime. ย  Also, love the competitive sports aspect of it- the trials the characters go through, the mental training of persevering through loss and hardship climaxing with that sweet victory sensation. Reminds me all too much of my school days when we went for competitions and couldn’t go anywhere without a teacher :). Miss those days! Also the feelings of adolescence, being unsure of joining a nerdy club , the pressure to do only what you’re good at…it’s all too familiar and it makes me look back at life and its regrets and successes. The characters are really relatable. It’s like you can see a part of yourself in each of them! Well, the days of my youth are gone ( am I that old??) but I’m glad to be able to experience it once again through this anime! Also, karuta! this show makes me want to learn how to play it ๐Ÿ™‚

Also, aside from the competitive sports aspect, there’s also the romance. Only implied but nevertheless there. Taichi and Chihaya! (below)

I think every girl watching this anime is more or less in love with Taichi. he’s the sweetest thing. Always there for Chihaya yet never daring to make a move on her for well..many reasons. It’s so obvious that he likes her though. I think my heart stops every time he looks at her. His gaze is so intense and is just filled with so much emotion. Good job to the artists for managing to portray his feelings so well! All the time he’s ย watching out for her, taking care of her and doing things for her you can tell he really likes her but like any typical female anime lead who are completely dense and oblivious to awesome guys around them, Chihaya is no exception. What makes it worse is that she’s chasing after Arata! Which just makes everyone sympathize with Taichi even more. The fact that he’s voiced by Miyano only adds to his plus points too :D. ย He is pretty good looking as well, much more so than Arata! who’s well…cool but boring. that’s how I’d describe him.

“Love is when it isn’t fun to be with that person. It’s when nothing goes the way you want. When you’re not having fun…and yet….You still want to be with her.” –Mashima Taichi

How sweet is that? ๐Ÿ™‚ I think it’s true too. So anyway, I’m rooting for this pairing….hopefully SOMETHING happens in season 2 otherwise it’s going to be such a let down. Unrequited feelings which don’t result in anything sighs. But knowing animes, nothing ever happens 3/4 of the time. I hope for more character development in season 2! Chihaya and Taichi must be one of the sweetest anime couples ever. Their romance is so subdued but all the little things really get to you ๐Ÿ™‚ . Also, they look so good together! I have yet to finish watching Chihayafuru Season 1 but so far…it’s been awesome.

Chihayafuru you’ve outdone yourself. I started it without much expectation but it’s proven to be amazing so far! I’m so glad to have chanced upon it! Finally, finally I’ve found some good anime to watch ๐Ÿ™‚ Fate Zero and now this! It’s been so long since I watched anime simply due to the fact I couldn’t find any good ones. But now, I’m over the moon! 2 awesome ones at once! Yayy anime days are back! ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

